Click here to Print
Last Updated On: 14/06/2012  

Flying Training Establishments

    The Indian Air Force has Flying Training Establishments (FTE) exclusively set up to train you to take off as a pilot. Each establishment is a mark of your progression, from basic to more complex levels of flying. On completion of training, you are awarded your Wings at a Combined Graduation Parade held at the Air Force Academy.

Following are the Flying Training Establishments:

Thus, after basic Flying training (Stage I) at AFA, and trifurcation into Fighter, Transport and helicopter stream, a pilot would undergo further training as follows:

Stage II – Advanced stage     Stage III - Specialisation


    Fighter stream

    Stage II - Hakimpet - 24 Weeks

    Stage III - Bidar - 24 Weeks


    Transport Stream

    Stage II & III - Yelahanka - 48 Weeks


    Helicopter Stream

    Stage II - Hakimpet - 24 Weeks

    Stage III - Yelahanka - 24 Weeks